THE IRON TRUNK

Posted: May 16, 2017 in Articles

When I was ten years young, I was sent to a boarding school in Jhumri Tilaiya, in Jharkhand, a state in India. It is indeed one of the most beautiful places in India, located right next to the Dam. We used to have two vacations a year. The school bus will drop us to Koderma, close to forty minutes drive, the nearest town. It had a railway station as well as a bus stand.

On one such holiday, I carried an Iron trunk, weighing up-to 15 kilograms. Bought a train ticket and landed at the platform. Waited for the passenger train. Train did come but it was too crowded. It was just not possible to enter either from the gate. I gave up. Waited for another passenger train. The subsequent train was equally crowded. There was no way I could enter through the regular gate of the compartment. One of the vendors at the platform felt pity on me. He pushed me inside the train through the window. The passengers pulled me inside the compartment. The trunk was at the platform. The vendor was a nice man. He could have run away with my trunk. But he picked it up; and pushed it inside the compartment.

There were several stations on the way to my destination. Gradually the crowd thinned. I managed to find a place to sit and kept the trunk underneath the seat. At one station, a person in his thirties took a seat next to me, and entered into a polite conversation. Asked me where I am coming from, where do I study, if I am traveling alone, the destination etc. By this time the passenger train was about to leave the platform. He moved his body close to me and said: “You are a student from a reputed school. But you need to be careful. This station is full of crooks. Do you know what they do? In a moving train they will grab your trunk like this, and jump out of the moving train. And you can’t do anything about it. “

As he was talking to me he picked up the trunk and jumped out of the running train.

Leave a comment