POND

Posted: May 14, 2017 in Spots on development issues

Duration              #  110 – 120 Seconds

Language            #  Hindi

Format                #  High Definition

Location              #  A pond in the eastern coast of India, surrounded by trees, all around.

TREATMENT

This spot is designed to create an awareness about our environment, a pond in particular.

In this spot, a case study of a pond in a village is undertaken. Over the years, how a young, vibrant and beautiful pond has degraded; due to misuse, neglect and lack of concern by human beings.

However it is still competent to regain its vitality and youth.

The narrative Structure is treated like an autobiography. Instead of talking about the pond, it speaks about herself directly to the audience, in first person, feminine gender.

Text of the Commentary

I hate flattering myself. But I cannot resist saying one thing… I am beautiful, clean and transparent. Do you know what eatery one calls me… Beauty. Indeed I am beautiful.

On my lap colourful fish play. Whenever a bit of dirt comes over on my body, these cute little sisters gulp them. I don’t have to remind them.

With the arrival of soap and detergent in the village, has spoiled my skin. Harmful chemicals has settled on the body.

Gradually, poison has spread on my entire body. Little fishes, they deserted me. These days plastic swim instead.

Human beings stop using me. Only the cattle come to rest. I know this is what I am capable of. Their urine and defecation has not only spoiled my beauty but I stink as well.

In spite of this I have millions of lovers. They are constantly surrounding me. They don’t leave me for a second.

Often I am sick. With medicines, I know for certain I can revive my lost beauty.

Leave a comment